top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureashleycoleman1018

Blog 13- Intersectionality

I used to think.... but now I think.....

I used to think that intersectionality was just different identities that people use to identity has themselves. But now I have learn that people have mixed identities from the reading and the videos. Watching the video, there are so many identities that we have and we should be happy about them. Intersectionality is a good thing to be proud of.


This reminds me of....

This article Teaching at the intersection, reminds me of my childhood growing up. When I was growing up I use to live in Waukegan, IL and that is a very diversity community. When I was in elementary and middle school I wasn't welcome by everyone. I had this teacher in 5th grade that didn't welcome me in her classroom, she didn't want me to participate in anything, she didn't even want me to ask her questions about the. work. She use to annoy me when I was talking to her. She was a very rude person just because I was the only African American person in that classroom. After that I realize that African Americans are not welcome every where and you shouldn't run from that. I can say that it was hard for me living in Waukegan but it has taught me a lot about society and my own kind.


I'm still wondering...

I'm still wondering how to make a comfortable environment for my students to talk about this topic?

I'm still wondering how can this information help me to teach my students in English and Social Studies?


4 views1 comment

1件のコメント


Kristina Falbe
Kristina Falbe
2021年4月09日

Ashley- I am sorry that happened to you in school. What a hard memory to have to hold on to. I like that question you asked about how you implement. I would highly suggest following @Jess5th on Twitter. She shares really meaningful activities that she does in her classroom. I also think you might like the book "We Got This" by Cornelius Minor.

いいね!
bottom of page