top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureashleycoleman1018

Blog 15: Teaching Platform (revisited)

What is the purpose of schooling?

  • The purpose of schooling is to give students new opportunities to experience new things. Also, to empower them and to promote interest in young learners to develop different avenues to reading, math, social studies and so much more. Children of today is our future of tomorrow.

What is your image in learners?

  • The image that I have for my students is for them to talk about their culture . I want my students to come to me and tell me about themselves and their classmates. So we can all learn from each other and accept each other equally.

What should be nature and substance of student work?

  • To help students to achieve their very best and work of quality. Their work should not be base on a passing grade, it should be about their understanding of the lesson that is being taught. As teachers, you should be able to see that they are using what they are learning in they're everyday life. There are multiple ways of teaching, we all teach each other.

What is your image as a teacher?

  • A teacher is someone that is trustworthy, positive and passion about what subject that they are teaching. A teacher is also someone that you rely on or respect as a person. They provide reassurance to their students, they correct them with they are wrong and provide alternate ways to do things.

What is the preferred pedagogy?

  • My preferred pedagogy as a future educator is to have an open mind about learning different techniques and cultures when you are teaching your students. Also, to help set a goal for your students to build on prior knowledge and develop skills. Students should work with there classmates to share their opinions and ideas. Students learn from each other.

What is the preferred school climate?

  • A preferred school climate would be a safe place for students to learn and can be themselves. Also, where teachers reflect on norms, goals, values, interpersonal relationships, and organizational structures for students.

What is the social significance of the student's learning?

  • The social significance of the students learning how to work together in groups. That helps the teacher to see who is good with working with others and who needs a little more help. The students are learning how to express their own opinion about the activity. Teachers are should be having students to reflect on what they are learning in their everyday life, also talking about social justice.

Overall, my outlook on my goals in the classroom hasn't really change this semester. I have gotten a better understanding on my goals for my future classroom and students. I have learn so much from this class about young adolescents and how to recognize different things that my students will go through. Also, how to set up and teach my classroom basic on what is going on with my students. I'm excited to learn more about young adolescents and to have a welcoming environment, etc. I think I have a good understanding on how to be a good future educator.



13 views3 comments

3 comentarios


Joey Fatigante
Joey Fatigante
19 abr 2021

Hey Ashley! I think you have the beginning of a great teaching platform! One thing I see that I think you could really expand on is the climate of your classroom. After your platform, you talked about learning how to set up your future classroom, and I think the climate section would be a great place for you to present that information you learned which also highlights your ideas of the learner. Using what they learn everyday to enhance their work. But I do think that your ideals are spot on! Keep it up!


joey

Me gusta

Liliana Beard
Liliana Beard
19 abr 2021

Hi Ashley, you've got a great start going here. I really like your ideas about what a classroom should look like. One point in particular I enjoy is how you mentioned students' goals should not be to achieve a passing great, but rather a valuable understanding of the material. I think a way to expand upon this would be to reference the feedback approach, like what is seen in this class. This format provides concrete input about how students can improve, without feeling the constant pressure of grades. Overall, awesome job :)

Me gusta
Liliana Beard
Liliana Beard
19 abr 2021
Contestando a

-LB

Me gusta
bottom of page