top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureashleycoleman1018

Blog 2- Ah-Hah Moment

Updated: Feb 20, 2021

"Everything has a reputation."

This quote is so powerful because everything really does have a reputation. A lot of times when we look at things and start stereotyping them. Sometimes, we don't even realize it. As a future educator, I want to make sure I don't stereotype my students with everything that they do. I want to be openminded when it comes to my students and our classroom.

"While "doing the work" on yourself is intense and reflective, it is also a process."

This quote is simple but it something that people should know. One thing to say you want to fix something about yourself is to actually take the time out and have patiences. Change is not going to happen fast unless you accept it and work on it. As teachers, we have to reflect on a lot things with it come to our students because you don't want to say the wrong thing or do the wrong thing.


"We are all subject to bias."

This is quote is reality, it doesn't matter who you are or what you do we all are bias about something even when we don't want to amid it. Everybody has there personal opinion about something. As a future educator, we have to realize different bias will in the classroom good or bad. We have to notice we it comes up and how to deal with it. I'm not saying its going to be easy but we have to acknowledge it after time to time.








16 views3 comments

3 Comments


Adrianna Fontana
Adrianna Fontana
Feb 10, 2021

I really liked your post! I liked how you used really short and simple quotes but really expanded how you interpreted it and your thoughts on them. I agree on all of the points you made. I also liked the image you selected!

Like

Leksi Daszkiewicz
Leksi Daszkiewicz
Feb 07, 2021

Hi Ashley!

I really liked the quotes you picked from the readings and your thoughts on them. I really liked your quote that everything has a reputation, everything does in fact have a reputation even when we do not realize it, I agree that as future teachers we cannot stereotype our students. This only causes so many problems in the classroom and can make the students not trust you as their teacher. I am so glad you brought that quote up and I really enjoyed reading your quotes.

Like

Miquela Bowers
Miquela Bowers
Feb 04, 2021

I like the quotes that you pulled from the reading. I agree that as educators we have to do a lot of reflecting because students look up to us and we can only show them the best if we are constantly working on ourselves to be the best version we can be.

Like
bottom of page